click to enable zoom
We didn't find any results
View Roadmap Satellite Hybrid Terrain My Location Fullscreen Prev Next
Your search results

Smart City Mission India.

by plotson on April 27, 2017
Smart City Mission India.

On June 2015 PM Narendra Modi launched Smart city Mission to develop 100 cities all over the India.

The purpose of the Smart City Mission is to drive economic growth and improve the quality of life of people by local area development and technology . The objective is also to promote cities that provide core infrastructure and give a decent quality of life to its citizens, a clean and sustainable environment and application of ‘Smart’ Solutions.

The major challenges in this would be to turn slums into better planned ones, & improving living of the whole City. The area based development will be carried out by the way of City Improvement, City renewal, & City extension in which New areas to be developed around cities.

The mission is going to cover 100 cities & its duration will be five years. [2015 to 2020].

There are different stages in a selection of smart cities 1st stage is Intra state competition where state governments to shortlist potential smart cities according to the criteria of MoUD(Ministry of Urban Development) , on the basis of that the list of potential 100 smart cities is announced, on next stage each of potential smart city has to prepare a proposal, for which then evolution is done by panel of experts where selected cities would be declared as Round 1 smart cities, then selected cities to prepare SPV (special purpose vehicle) & start implementation of SCP( smart city proposal).& other cities get chance to improve their proposal for next round of the challenge.

Financing for the the Smart City Mission will be operated as centrally sponsored scheme & centre proposes to give Rs.48000 crore over 5 years.

The Advance will be released after the stage 1 of the challenge for the preparation of SCP. The yearly installments of funds will be released after they meet the conditions decided by MoUD.
An Apex committee headed by secretary MoUD will monitor the progress & release funds.
The apex committee will provide overall guidance and play an advisory role to the Mission.
At State level there will be a High Powered Steering Committee (HPSC) chaired by the Chief Secretary, which would drive the Smart City Programme.

At city level a Smart City Advisory Forum will be established to advise and enable collaboration among various stakeholders.

Here is the list of number of cities allocated to state based on urban population.

Rank Name of State/UT Names of Cities Shortlisted

Rank Name of State/UT Names of Cities Shortlisted
1 Andhra Pradesh Vishakhapatnam,Tirupati,Kakinada
2 Bengal Kolkata, Bidhannagar, Durgapur, Haldia
3 Gujarat Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Dahod
4 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal, Indore, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Satna, Ujjain, Sagar
5 Tamil Nadu Coimbatore, Chennai, Madurai, Tiruchirapalli, Vellore, Salem, Erode, Tiruppur, Dindigul,Thanjavur, Tirunelveli,Thoothukudi,
6 Karnataka Mangaluru, Belagavi, Shivamogga, Hubbali-Dharwad, Tumakuru, Davanagere
7 Kerala Kochi
8 Telangana Warangal, Karimnagar
9 Maharashtra Greater Mumbai, Thane, Kalyan-Dombivali, Pimpri-Chinchwad,[10] Nashik, Amravati, Solapur, Nagpur, Pune, Aurangabad
10 Uttar Pradesh Meerut, Moradabad, Aligarh, Saharanpur, Bareilly, Jhansi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Lucknow, Varanasi, Ghaziabad, Agra,Rampur
11 Rajasthan Jaipur, Udaipur, Ajmer, Kota
12 Punjab Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Amritsar
13 Bihar Muzaffarpur, Bhagalpur, Biharsharif
14 Haryana Karnal, Faridabad
15 Assam Guwahati
16 Odisha Bhubaneshwar, Rourkela
17 Himachal Pradesh Dharamshala
18 Uttarakhand Dehradun
19 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar,Jammu
20 Jharkhand Ranchi
21 Sikkim Namchi
22 Manipur Imphal
23 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
24 Arunachal Pradesh Pasighat
25 Chandigarh Chandigarh
26 Chhattisgarh Raipur, Bilaspur
27 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
28 Daman and Diu Diu
29 Delhi New Delhi
30 Goa Panaji
31 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
32 Meghalaya Shillong
33 Mizoram Aizawl
34 Nagaland Kohima
35 Nagaland Kohima
36 Tripura Agartala

Three rounds have been carried out and selected cities have started project preparations & implementation.

The more information available on the link



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

  • Advanced Search

    Rs 0 to Rs 0

  • Latest Articles